Three Outstanding Women Named Girl Scouts’ 2017 Women of Distinction

Girl Scouts Nation’s Capital has named three women from the Eastern Panhandle as the 2017 “Women of Distinction.” They will be recognized at the 13th annual Women of Distinction luncheon this fall on Wednesday, October 11, at the Holiday Inn in Martinsburg.

The women, nominated by community members, were selected by their peers for outstanding volunteerism in the community, contribution to their professions, and being exemplary role models for young women. They epitomize the qualities of Girl Scouts’ G.I.R.L. campaign: Go-Getters, Innovators, Risk-Takers, and Leaders™. Vicki Jenkins, Peggy Smith, and Becky Stotler will join the distinguished rank of women who have received the Women of Distinction honor over the past 12 years – and this year all three honorees are former Girl Scouts themselves! Vicki Jenkins has been a dedicated educator for over 35 years, retiring from James Rumsey Technical Institute in 2013, after serving nine years as Director/Principal. She graduated from Shepherd College, earned a Master’s Degree from West Virginia University, and has completed all course work toward a doctorate. She is certified in Public Health Administration and has been named Morgan County Teacher of the Year and West Virginia Home Economics Teacher of the Year. She was inducted into the Career and Technical “Hall of Fame” in 2013, and was selected West Virginia’s Outstanding Career and Technical (CTE) Administrator. Most recently she was named the 2017 Hedgesville High School Outstanding Alumni.

Vicki is an active member of Hedgesville Presbyterian Church and the Rotary Club of Martinsburg where she served as Co-Chair for Vocational Service Month. Since 2003 she has been a member of Panhandle Home Health’s Board of Directors, serving as Vice Chair for 12 years. She is a former WV Association Career and Technical Education state president, also serving as president of the Home Economics Division. She has been on the Board of Directors for the Martinsburg/ Berkeley County Chamber of Commerce and currently serves on the WV State LPN Board. She has been president of Delta Kappa Gamma, a society for outstanding women educators and also serves as a mentor for new career and technical education administrators.

Peggy Smith is a lifelong resident of Jefferson County where she most recently served as the Mayor of Charles Town from 2005-2017. She attended Shepherd College and retired from City National Bank where she specialized in residential and commercial development; she continues as Chairperson of City National Bank’s Regional Advisory Board. She is a past Chairperson of the Jefferson County United Way and received their Van Ryzin Award in 1998 for her outstanding contributions. She also served as project manager for five years at Shenandoah Women’s Center in Ranson for the annual Day of Caring.

Peggy has served as President of the Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce and has been a member of their Board of Directors for over 20 years. She has also been Treasurer of the Jefferson County Development Authority, and is a member of the Board of Directors of the WV Municipal League and the Jefferson County Visitors Bureau. She also served on the Jefferson Memorial Park Board and was instrumental in establishing the Charles Town Farmers Market, the West Virginia Fest, and the annual Labor Day Weekend Car Show, among many other accomplishments.

Becky Stotler is just completing two years’ service as president of the Berkeley Springs-Morgan County Chamber of Commerce where she was named Volunteer of the Year for 2017. She graduated Summa Cum Laude from Fairmont College, and has risen through the ranks at CNB Bank in Berkeley Springs over a 33-year period, presently serving as CFO there. She serves as treasurer at Union Chapel (where she worships), Morgan County Soccer League, and Morgan County Student Aid Fund. She is also on the WVU Extension Board, the War Memorial Hospital Board of Directors, the Finance Committee for Valley Health, and the School Improvement Council at Berkeley Springs High School.

She and her husband, Arnie Stotler, earned the prestigious Spirit of the Panhandle Award in 2011 from the Eastern West Virginia Community Foundation. She has been a 4-H leader for over 30 years and serves as president of the Morgan County 4-H Leaders. The Morgan Arts Council named her Volunteer of the Year in 2000 for her efforts toward the Ice House Theater Project.

For more information about the Women of Distinction luncheon and sponsorship opportunities, please contact Betsy Thurston: 202-274-3330 or

Author: Brian

Share This Post On